City guide

Liposuction and Body Contouring in North Charleston, SC: Costs and Surgeons

Liposuction and body contouring in North Charleston, South Carolina: what the procedures cost, how to check a surgeon’s license, board certification and facility, and the plastic surgeons the federal register lists in and near North Charleston.

The Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge across Charleston Harbor.

North Charleston had 114,852 residents in the 2020 Census (86,510 in Charleston County and 28,342 in Dorchester County), more than Mount Pleasant or Greenville, yet the federal register places only two plastic surgeons there. This guide covers what body contouring costs in South Carolina, which nearby prices are published, where the area’s surgeons are registered and how to check a surgeon and a facility before you book.

County
Charleston and Dorchester
Population
114,8522020 census
Plastic surgeons / practices in the register
2 / 2NPPES, October 2026

Population: 2020 United States census. Register count: individuals with a plastic surgery taxonomy at a practice address in the city in the federal NPI register, read October 2, 2026; the register does not record board certification.

What body contouring costs in North Charleston

No practice in North Charleston publishes a body contouring price. Sono Bello, a national body contouring chain, has a North Charleston location but shows no prices. The statewide averages are the first reference:

ProcedureSouth Carolina figureSource and yearWhat it counts
Liposuction$5,322 averageRealSelf, 2023 dataPatient-reported, generally all-in
Liposuction$2,000 to $8,000ABCS price calculator, no date givenInclusions not stated
Liposuction, upper abdomen only$3,431 averageCareCredit, 2026 studyExcludes anesthesia, facility and pre- and post-op care
Lipo 360$6,764 averageCareCredit, 2026 studyDoes not say anesthesia is included
Tummy tuck$4,300 to $9,500ABCS price calculator, no date givenInclusions not stated
Panniculectomy$6,059 averageCareCredit, 2024 studyInclusions not stated

The nearest published fees are in Charleston. Port City Plastic Surgery on Daniel Island lists liposuction at $2,200 to $3,200 per area for the abdomen or flanks and a tummy tuck at $5,000 to $6,000; its list says anesthesia and operating room fees are quoted at consultation, so those figures most likely leave both out. MUSC Medical Center’s price-transparency file (April 2026) gives a discounted cash price of $3,259 for trunk liposuction, which is the hospital facility charge alone, without the surgeon or anesthesia.

What insurers pay MUSC. The same file lists the facility rates MUSC has negotiated with insurers for a panniculectomy, $2,338 to $6,793. These are insurer-negotiated facility rates, and the file lists no cash price beside them.

Detail by procedure: liposuction cost, tummy tuck cost, skin removal surgery cost.

Plastic surgeons in and near North Charleston

As of October 2, 2026, the federal NPI register lists 2 individual plastic surgeons and 2 plastic surgery organizations at North Charleston practice addresses. Charleston, next door, has 15 surgeons and 5 organizations, and Mount Pleasant 8 and 6, so most of the area’s registered plastic surgeons practice in the neighboring cities. The register records neither board certification nor which procedures a surgeon performs.

MUSC Health runs a plastic surgery clinic in the city, at the North Area Medical Pavilion (8992 University Boulevard, 2nd floor). It is one of four MUSC plastic surgery locations, with the main clinic at Rutledge Tower in Charleston. MUSC’s body contouring page lists tummy tuck, panniculectomy, arm and thigh lifts and liposculpture.

Checking a surgeon and a facility in South Carolina

Whether you see a surgeon in North Charleston or cross into Charleston, the same state checks apply.

  • License and discipline. Search the SC LLR licensee lookup by name or by city, using the “PS. Plastic Surgery” specialty, and read the Public Board Orders.
  • Certification. Confirm American Board of Plastic Surgery certification on the ABPS public lookup.
  • Facility. Regulation 81-96 requires offices doing Level II or III surgery (moderate sedation or deeper) to register with the Board, be accredited within their first year and keep a hospital transfer protocol. AAAHC’s search lists accredited South Carolina facilities.
  • Liposuction. The Board’s 2002 parameters cap lidocaine at 55 mg/kg per case.

See how to check a plastic surgeon for every step.

Coverage and paying

Cosmetic liposuction and tummy tucks are not covered by health plans. A panniculectomy, which removes overhanging abdominal skin, can be: BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina sets criteria such as skin problems that persist after three months of treatment, and South Carolina Medicaid can cover one that corrects an illness caused or aggravated by the overhanging skin, with prior authorization. Read plastic surgery insurance coverage for the criteria.

For self-pay surgery, ask for one written total and read any financing terms in full. See how to pay less for plastic surgery.

Frequently asked questions

Are there plastic surgeons in North Charleston?

The federal register lists 2 plastic surgeons and 2 plastic surgery organizations in the city, and MUSC Health has a plastic surgery clinic at the North Area Medical Pavilion. Charleston has 15 registered surgeons.

How much does liposuction cost near North Charleston?

South Carolina averages run from $3,431 for the upper abdomen alone (CareCredit, before anesthesia and facility) to $5,322 in patient-reported totals (RealSelf). The nearest published office fee is $2,200 to $3,200 per area at a Daniel Island practice.

Will insurance pay for skin removal after weight loss?

Sometimes, for a panniculectomy that meets an insurer’s medical criteria. Cosmetic tummy tucks are excluded. South Carolina Medicaid requires prior authorization.

Sources

Figures retrieved October 2, 2026. Prices and lookups change; confirm each on the day you decide. Body Sculpting Masters is a publication, not a practice.

Before you book

Three checks before a consultation in North Charleston

Every physician practicing in South Carolina holds a license from the South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners, and any license can be checked on its public lookup. Board certification in plastic surgery is separate, and the American Board of Plastic Surgery’s lookup confirms it. Ask, too, where the operation will happen and who accredits that facility. We are a publication, not a practice, and we do not recommend individual surgeons.

Body contouring guides for other South Carolina cities

From the articles

All articles